THE Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released the list of candidates of political parties for the 2023 general elections.
The list, displayed by the electoral body at its offices nationwide, includes names of presidential candidates and their vice-presidential selections, as well as senatorial and House of Representatives candidates.
ANALYSIS: How misinformation almost marred 2022 Ekiti governorship election
Sanwo-Olu, Ganduje to lead APC’s 86-member campaign council to Osun governorship election
Atiku hails Supreme Court ruling on Section 84(12) of Electoral Act
Frontline presidential candidates on the list are Asiwaju Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential candidate and his running mate, Ibrahim Masari; and Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and his running mate, Ifeanyi Okowa.
Others are Peter Obi, presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP) and his running mate, Doyin Okupe; and Osita Nnadi, presidential candidate of the Action Peoples Party (APP) and his running mate,  Isa Hamisu.
The timetable and schedule of activities for the 2023 General elections released by INEC indicate that political parties have until July 15 to withdraw or replace their candidates and running mates for the presidential and National Assembly elections.
This means that Tinubu, Obi and other presidential candidates who submitted interim names as their running mates have about 19 days to submit the substantive names.
The other presidential candidates are Abiola Kolawole of the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) and his running mate, Ribi Marshal; Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) and his running mate, Johnson Oladipupo; Yabagi Sani of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) and his running mate, Udo Okey-Okoro; Ado-Ibrahim Abdulmalik of the Young Progressives Party (YPP) and his running mate, Enyinna Kasarachi.
The others are Omoyele Sowore of the African Action Congress (AAC) and his running mate, Garba Magashi; Mamman Dantalle of the Allied Peoples Movement (APM) and his running mate, Ojei Princess; Chukwudi Umeadi of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) and his running mate, Koli Mohammed; Oluwafemi Adenuga of the Boot Party (BP) and his running mate, Turaku Mustapha; Daberechukwu Nwanyanwu of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) and his running mate, Ramalan Abubakar; Dumebi Kachikwu of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) and his running mate, Ahmed Mani; and Hamsa Almustafa, presidential candidate, Action Aliance (AA) and his running mate, Chukwuka Johnson.
Amos Abba is a journalist with the International Center for Investigative Reporting, ICIR, who believes that courageous investigative reporting is the key to social justice and accountability in the society.
We invite you to support us to continue the work we do.

Your support will strengthen journalism in Nigeria and help sustain our democracy.

document.getElementById( “ak_js_1” ).setAttribute( “value”, ( new Date() ).getTime() );
This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.
We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.

We need your support to produce excellent journalism at all times.
© The ICIR | All rights reserved.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like

Why over 200 soldiers applied for retirement – Nigerian Army – Premium Times

FILE PHOTO: Troops of the Nigerian Army. [PHOTO CREDIT: Official Twitter handle…

Team Nigeria and Birmingham 2022 – Daily Sun

The performance of Team Nigeria at the 2022 Commonwealth Games in Birmingham,…

2023 General Election: A Decider On Nigeria's Democracy And Unity – Nigerian Observer

By RICHARD EWEKA 12 hours ago POLITICS Leave a comment 41 Views…

Nigerian students protest lecturers strike, block Lagos traffic – Reuters